CanBIM recognizes 2021 Innovation Spotlight Award winners: AECOM wins three awards for Gordie Howe International Bridge


Ontario Construction Report staff writer

CanBIM announced the winners for the 2021 Innovation Spotlight Awards in October as part of its second virtual awards presentation.

Top honours for the night went to AECOM for their submission relating to the Gordie Howe International Bridge. The company won three awards; the Design and Engineering Award, Global Envoy Award and Best In Innovation Award.

The Gordie Howe International Bridge project consists of four major infrastructure components: A six lane 2.5 km bridge, two ports of entry across 297 acres with 42,756 sq. m. of buildings, and the 1-75 interchange with 3 km of road. Once complete, the bridge will be the longest cable stay bridge in the Americas.

CanBIM recognized industry leaders in 10 award categories: Academic Award, Research Award, Entrepreneurship and Startups Award, Digital Products, Digital Supply Chain and Fabrication, Construction Management, Digitalization Strategy, Global Envoy Award, Project Delivery, Asset Management and Lifecycle Award and Design and Engineering.

Top honours were presented to the Best In Innovation Award Winner, which is selected from the winners of each award category. CanBIM also recognized its volunteer of the year with the Industry Trailblazer Award.

The winners are:

Industry Trailblazer Award – Sponsored by GRAITEC

John Ringness, managing director, NEXT FMS

Academic Award – Sponsored by Tucker HiRise Construction

Sina Karimi – École de technologie supérieure (ETS) – Autonomous Robotic Data Collection Integrated with BIM & GIS

Research Award – Sponsored by Planit Measuring

Pomerleau – Smart Data Collection Using Spot and Artificial Intelligence (AI)

Entrepreneurship and Startups Award – Sponsored by Pomerleau

Airtasks – Team Productivity Platform for the Building Industry

Digital Products Award – Sponsored by Revizto

Jaibot – Hilti

Digital Supply Chain and Fabrication Award – Sponsored by Maple Reinders

Modern Niagara – Calgary Cancer Centre

Construction Management Award – Sponsored by Brownlee LLP

Magil Construction – Montréal Heart Institute – Construction, Redevelopment & Expansion

Digitalization Strategy Award  – Sponsored by WSP

EllisDon Construction – Automating BIM Compliance and QA/QC Reporting

Global Envoy Award – Sponsored by PCL Constructors

AECOM – Gordie Howe International Bridge

Project Delivery, Asset Management and Lifecycle Award – Sponsored by GRAITEC

A Journey to Information Management – Ville de Québec

Design and Engineering Award – Sponsored by Glaholt Bowles LLP

AECOM – Gordie Howe International Bridge

 Best In Innovation – Sponsored by Bluebeam

AECOM – Gordie Howe International Bridge

CanBIM multi-casted the awards presentation on all its social channels as a live global broadcast. The 2021 Award was designed and fabricated by HOK Canada and York University.  Using digital design and fabrication methods, the team presented a short video outlining the process and inspiration for the 2021 award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.