Consulting Engineers of Ontario invites annual submissions for engineering excellence

ocea logo 2019

Consulting Engineers of Ontario (CEO) says it is celebrating engineering excellence by conducting their annual Ontario Consulting Engineering Awards (OCEA) program.

CEO invites member firms to submit project entries to the 17th annual OCEA. The winners will be announced during a gala dinner on April 26, 2019 at Copper Creek Golf Club, in Kleinburg. All project entries will be on digital display at the event and mentioned in their annual Accolades magazine.

Four Awards of Excellence will be handed out to firms of various sizes. Categories include firms with 1 to 50 employees, firms with 51 to 100 employees, firms with 101 to 350 employees and firms with more than 351 employees.

In addition, CEO will present Awards of Merit in seven categories: Building Engineering and Science; Environment; Industry, Energy and Resources; Project Management; Studies and Research; Transit; and Transportation Structural.

The most prestigious award, the Willis Chipman, will go to the firm whose project best demonstrates engineering excellence and innovation.

There is no fee to submit an entry and member firms may submit a maximum of five entries per year. The one-page Notice of Intent to Submit must be emailed by Oct. 12. Project submissions must be delivered to the CEO office, no later than Nov. 30. An OCEA Guidebook will be available on the CEO website in the upcoming weeks.

Changes in the awards this year include:

  • Project completion dates have been extended to a full year. Projects entered must be completed to the client’s satisfaction from Sept. 30, 2017 – Sept. 30, 2018;
  • A new category was added to the Awards of Merit. The previous Transit category has been split in two: Transit and Transportation Structural.
  • A PowerPoint presentation is no longer required as part of the submission package.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.