Nominations open for EQ Awards to recognize Ontario’s housing innovations


EnerQuality, a certifier of energy efficient homes, is seeking nominations for the annual EQ Awards. The awards pay tribute to leaders in the homebuilding industry who have made energy efficiency a key feature of new homes.

Builders, consultants and industry partners will be honoured at the EQ Awards Gala in Richmond Hill on Feb. 25, 2016.

“Over the last 10 years Ontario’s home building industry has made enormous strides to improve the energy efficiency of new homes,” said EnerQuality presidentCorey McBurney. “Builders have worked really hard and it’s important for the rest of us to celebrate their achievements and recognize the innovators. At the same time, we are looking to the future. We are in the middle of a really vigorous conversation about where we’re going with the energy efficiency in homes. The next 10 years might be the most transformational decade ever in residential construction.”

Awards are given in a number of categories including three new categories: Building Innovation Award – Mid and High Rise recognizes a builder who demonstrates technical excellence in energy efficiency and green building practices in multi-family buildings; and the Net Zero Builder of the Year Award recognizes a builder who is building Net Zero homes. EnerQuality has also reintroduced the R-2000 Builder of the Year Award in recognition of this pioneering program.

The full list of awards include:

ENERGY STAR for New Homes Builder of the Year (Large Volume)
ENERGY STAR for New Homes Builder of the Year (Mid Volume)
ENERGY STAR for New Homes Builder of the Year (Small/Custom)
ENERGY STAR®= for New Homes Champion of the Year
Building Innovation Award – Low Rise
Building Innovation Award – Mid/High Rise
Best Green Marketing Campaign
Green Renovation Project of the Year
Evaluator of the Year
Leader of the Year
Hall of Fame
Net Zero Builder of the Year
R-2000 Builder of the Year
Enbridge Gas Distribution’s Savings by Design Award
Union Gas’ Optimum Home Award

The EQ Awards Gala will follow the EQ Housing Innovation Forum, where EnerQuality says the building industry’s leading thinkers come together and exchange ideas.

This year’s forum is focused on the future. Under the theme ‘Next Gen Next 10’, participants from across Ontario will gather to discuss the future of home building including new requirements in the Ontario Building Code and ENERGY STAR for New Homes taking effect in 2017, as well as the next generation of government and utility programs.

EnerQuality says forum participants will hear from industry experts on a variety of topics: the shift to higher-density housing, the latest technologies, business innovation, and key topics in both low-rise and mid/high-rise building performance. In addition, a panel of builders who were involved in Net Zero pilot programs and energy experts will share their thoughts on the practical challenges of making the ultimate in energy efficiency a market reality.

The EQ Innovation Gauntlet showcases industry’s most innovative technologies to a panel of judges in a Dragon’s Den-style competition where the audience decides the winner.

Nomations deadline is Jan. 20, 2016 and further information about nominations and the EQ Housing Innovation Forum Conference and Awards Gala is available at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.