OAA invites submissions for 2016 awards


The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) is now accepting entries for the 2016 OAA Awards.

“Year after year, the OAA awards highlight the best in architectural design and innovation by Ontario architects, recognizing both emerging talent in the industry as well as some of the province’s most established architectural firms,” the OAA says in a news release.

Last year’s program attracted 176 submissions from across Ontario and winners featured both Canadian and international projects designed by Ontario architects, ranging from sustainable single-family homes to the redevelopment of key cultural and civic destinations.

“We’ve seen a real increase in the overall understanding of the value of architecture and the role strong design plays in everything from economic growth, to climate change, to density and healthy cities,” says OAA president Toon Dreessen. “We are – more than ever – aware of the importance of our architectural heritage and how the built environment creates some of the most desirable places in the world to visit, live and work. This year’s awards is a celebration of just that: design the matters, design that makes a difference.”

Submissions are welcome from architects, intern architects, owners, users, builders, and members of the public, provided the work itself was undertaken by a member of the OAA.

The deadline for submission is Jan. 25,  at 4:30 pm.

Award recipients will be honoured at the Celebration of Excellence Awards Ceremony at the OAA Annual Conference in Toronto between May 11 and 13.

Submission categories include:

  • Best Emerging Practice
  • Design Excellence
  • Sustainable Design Excellence
  • G. Randy Roberts Service Award
  • Concepts
  • Honour Roll
  • Landmark Designation
  • Lifetime Design Achievement
  • Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Design Excellence in Architecture
  • Order of da Vinci
  • People’s Choice

Full category details, information on past awards, and eligibility criteria, can be found at http://www.oaa.on.ca/the%20oaa/awards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.