OAA announces 10 Design Excellence winners

Aga Khan Museum
Aga Khan Museum

Highlighting Ontario’s talent in architectural innovation and expertise, the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has announce 10 Canadian projects as recipients of this year’s Design Excellence Award, the largest category of the highly-anticipated annual OAA Awards.

Selected from almost 200 submissions, the 10 Design Excellence winners exemplify outstanding practise in creativity, context, sustainability, good design, good business and legacy. This year’s winning projects span across the country and range from iconic cultural centres to community hubs and breathtaking private residences.

Additional categories, including Concepts, Landmark Designation, Best Emerging Practice, G. Randy Roberts Service Award, Honour Roll, Lifetime Design Achievement Award and Order of da Vinci, celebrate leaders of Ontario’s architectural industry in originality, inspiration and direction.

Design Excellence winners include:

Aga Khan Museum
Toronto, ON
Moriyama & Teshima Architects in association with Maki and Associates

Commonwealth Community Recreation Centre
Edmonton, AB
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd. and HIP Architects in joint venture

Go Home Bay Cabin
Georgian Bay Township, ON
Ian MacDonald Architect Inc.

Harbord Towns
Toronto, ON
Superkül Inc.

Prince Arthur’s Landing, Thunder Bay Waterfront
Thunder Bay, ON
Brook McIlroy Inc.

Richard Ivey Building, Richard Ivey School of Business, Western University
London, ON
Hariri Pontarini Architects

Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre, University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC
KPMB Architects & HCMA Architecture + Design in joint venture

Skygarden House
Toronto, ON
Dubbeldam Architecture + Design

Stade de soccer de Montréal
Montréal, QC
Saucier + Perrotte Architectes /Hughes Condon Marler Architects (now HCMA Architecture + Design)

Toronto Public Library Scarborough Civic Centre Branch
Toronto, ON
LGA Architectural Partners Ltd. and Phillip H. Carter, Architect in joint venture

Dominique Cheng, OAA

Shoreline Commemorative
Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect

Landmark Designation

299 Queen Street West, Toronto
Burke, Horwood and White (original building)
Quadrangle Architects Limited (renovation)

St. Mary’s Ukrainian Catholic Church
Sudbury, ON
John Stefura and Carl Skerl, Townend Stefura Baleshta and Pfister Architects

Best Emerging Practice
Denegri Bessai Studio

G. Randy Roberts Service Award
Recognizing members of the OAA for extraordinary service to the members

John C. Cook

Honour Roll
Douglas Cumming Johnson and Brian Curtner

Lifetime Design Achievement Award
Honouring members for career-long contribution to Architectural Design Excellence

George P. Baird

Order of da Vinci
Presented to persons who have made a significant and meaningful contribution to the profession of architecture

William N. Greer

People’s Choice Award
Voting is now open to the public for this year’s OAA People’s Choice Award.

Be the judge and vote for your favourite OAA Design Excellence winner. From a contemporary cottage scaled to its lush natural environment in Georgian Bay to a waterfront redesign on Thunder Bay’s most historical piece of land, each winner shows exceptional design and remarkable architectural innovation.

To vote, visit www.oaa.on.ca between April 5 and 22.

2016 Celebration of Excellence
Winners across all categories will be recognized and honoured at the Allstream Centre in Toronto on May 13 to conclude the 2016 OAA Annual Conference. At this time, the winner of the Lieutenant Governor’s Award, Michael V. & Wanda Plachta Award and the People’s Choice Award will be revealed.

For additional information, please visit:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I accept the Privacy Policy

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.